Research Guides: CLAS 11A/12A: Cultures & Ideas I and II: Ancient Spaces (Roncaglia): Online Databases

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Get Help 24/7

Online Databases

ONLINE DATABASES USEFUL FOR STUDYING THE ANCIENT WORLD AND THE EARLY MIDDLE AGES

L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
This index is a comprehensive guide to the books, journal articles, and other publications that have been published since 1924 on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity and the early Christian world, from 2000 BCE to 800 CE. Some of its annotations are in French, but don't let that scare you. It is searched in English, and it will alert you to the existence of many publications written in English.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This is the basic index to journal articles published since 1929 in the field of art. It covers the art of all times and places throughout human history, including the ancient world. The full text (but often not the illustrations) of some of these articles is available online from 1995 forward within the database.
The full text of articles in selected periodicals is available online from 1995, or later, to the present.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 1.9 million high-quality digital images that are freely available for educational and research use. Containing reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, it is an excellent source in which to find images of buildings and works of art from ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt, and the Near East.
In addition to reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, this database also contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, including the ancient world, this online resource contains several reference works on art. Most important is Grove's Dictionary of Art, the largest and most comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts that has ever been published.
Providing excellent coverage of the visual arts in all parts of the world, this database contains several reference works on art. Most important is Groves Dictionary of Art, the most highly respected encyclopedia of art in the English language.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This index tells what articles have been published since 1984 in the most important scholarly journals in many fields in the humanities, including art, history, and ancient studies. It is one of the better sources for finding articles on ancient Egypt and the Near East.
The full text of many of the articles is available online from 1995, or later, to the present. For indexing of articles in humanities journals prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This database indexes articles published in the most important journals in many fields in the humanities and social sciences, including art, history, and ancient studies, from 1907-1984. It is one of the better sources for finding articles on ancient Egypt and the Near East.
For coverage of articles published from 1985 to the present, use Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
This database indexes journal articles, books, and more, published since 1784, pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 CE). The scope of coverage is international, with many publications listed in languages other than English.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Originally founded by James Loeb in 1911 to make available all the written works surviving from the ancient Greek and Roman world, this database provides fully searchable, high-quality online editions of the original texts in Greek and Latin, with English translations facing them. This is an excellent place for finding the primary sources in which ancient authors told us about their world.
This series was originally founded by James Loeb in 1911 to make available all the written works surviving from the ancient Greek and Roman world. Several new works and editions are added every year.

Perseus Digital Library
This is perhaps the most important single free Web site in the field of classical studies. It supplies the text in Greek, Latin, and (often) English translation of the works of many ancient authors. It also provides the texts of more recent books on aspects of the ancient world, and thousands of pictures of art objects, sites, and buildings. If you do research on the ancient world on the free Internet, and don't check out the Perseus Digital Library, your research will simply be incomplete.