Extremely important, and annoyingly detailed, instructions and tips are in the boxes below. You'd be wise to review them.
CRITICAL CAUTIONARY NOTE
When you are scrolling through search results in library databases, never-ever-ever-ever, do the following:
You will find that, in only a few minutes, there will be a rude "sorry charlie" message in that Tab or Window you thought you opened that article in. And, if you Save or Copy the Link Address, and paste it in a document or an email, when you click on it later, it will not work.
Instead, use the available tools in the database to collect search results and to email results. Those options are always there if you look around for them.
I'm not making this up!
TIP ONE: Think very carefully about the words you will use to search. Stick to the concrete and unambiguous. Use single words rather than phrases, except when necessary. Geography, for example, can be a sticky wicket! You may be tempted to use U.S. or America in a search. Don't! If you must, use the phrase "United States" (in quotes, like that).
TIP TWO: Use the " " around phrases and the asterisk (stereotyp*, college*) to truncate. In this database, these tools are critical.
TIP THREE: The Boolean OR is very important here. For example, you may be thinking an idea like "the western states", but you'd type something like this in one of the search boxes (the boxes expand):
california or nevada or arizona or "new mexico" or oregon or washington and so on
TIP FOUR: Don't forget to specify the years of publication you are interested in. Some of these databases have some pretty old things in them.
TIP FIVE: Once you've done your search, click on the article titles (in blue) and scan the abstracts to see if you like them. If you do, and the fulltext is there, use the option to send it to yourself. You'll get the PDF as an attachment and you can have the database send you a formatted citation using the pulldown menu:
TIP SIX: Use the Find It @ SCU to get to the fulltext when it is not right there in the database you are searching. It could be just a click away.
BONUS TIP : As you review your search results, put them in a folder by clicking on the folder icon either below or in the right column, depending on how you are viewing your results. Then when you are finished reviewing, click on the folder icon in the bar at the very top of the screen. You can then send them to yourself as a group and even specify which format you want the citations to appear in. You'll also get a permanent link back to the individual records in the database.