ETHN 188: Seminar - Civil Rights & Anti-Colonial Movements (Hazard)

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Footnote #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Article,” Title of Journal, Volume, no. Issue (Year), Pages, url/doi (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

     23. Robert Lerner and Althea K. Nagai, “Reverse Discrimination By the Numbers,” Academic Questions, 13, no. 3, 71 (2000), http://www.epnet.com/ehost/login.html (accessed January 24, 2012).

Short Note:

Footnote #. Last-name, “Shortened Title,” Page # [if available].

Example:

24. Lerner and Nagai, “Reverse Discrimination.,” 71.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal. Volume, no. Issue (Year), url/doi (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

Lerner, Robert and Althea K. Nagai. “Reverse Discrimination By the Numbers.” Academic Questions. 13,
     no. 3 (2000), http://www.epnet.com/ehost/login.html (accessed January 24, 2012).

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year, Page)

Example:

(Lerner and Nagai 2000, 71)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First-name. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal. Volume. no. Issue. url/doi (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

Lerner, Robert and Althea K. Nagai. 2000. “Reverse Discrimination By the Numbers.” Academic Questions. 13,
     no. 3. http://www.epnet.com/ehost/login.html (accessed January 24, 2012).

source: Adapted from West Virginia University 

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Footnote #. First Name Last-name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year. url (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

     27. Sandra Blakeslee, “A Pregnant Mother’s Diet May Turn the Genes Around,” New York Times, October 7, 2003. http://web.lexis-nexis.com/ (accessed May 9, 2005).

Short Note:

Footnote #. Last-name, “Shortened Title.”

Example:

28. Blakeslee, “A Pregnant Mother’s.”

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper. Month Day, Year. url (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

Blakeslee, Sandra. “A Pregnant Mother’s Diet May Turn the Genes Around.” New York Times. October 7, 2003.
     http://web.lexis-nexis.com/ (accessed May 9, 2005).

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Day Month. Year, Page)

• If the author is named, cite in the normal way with the author and date
• If no author is given, cite the newspaper title in italics
• Include the specific date as well as year and page or section numbers if appropriate

Example:

(Blakeslee 7 Oct. 2005, D7)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First Name. Year. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper. Month Day. url (accessed Month Day, Year).

Example:

Blakeslee, Sandra. 2003. “A Pregnant Mother’s Diet May Turn the Genes Around.” New York Times. October 7. 
     http://web.lexis-nexis.com/ (accessed May 9, 2005).

source: Adapted from West Virginia University.

Webpages can be problematic to cite because, unlike books or journals, they are edited frequently and don't have an actual "publication date." If you can locate a publication date or date of revision or modification, use that. If a publication or revision date cannot be located, use the date you accessed the website.

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name, Last-name, "Title of Webpage," Website Name, Access-Date, URL.

Example:

18. “Style Guide,” Wikipedia, Accessed July 18, 2008, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Style_guide.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, "Title Words."

Example:

23. "Style Guide."

Bibliography:

First-name, Last-name. "Title of Webpage." Website Name. Publication/Revision/Access-Date. URL.

Example:

“Style Guide.” Wikipedia. Accessed July 18, 2008. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Style_guide.

Source: Adapted from West Virginia University 

When citing a blog, cite individual posts and comments in the notes and the entire blog in your bibliography.

Blog citations should include:

• Author of the entry (even if it's a psuedonym)
• Name of the entry, in quotation marks
• Title or description of the blog
• The word BLOG IN PARENTHESES (UNLESS THE WORD BLOG IS PART OF THE NAME)
• If the blog is part of a larger publication, include the name of that publication
• URL.

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Footnote #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Post,” Title of Blog (blog), Title of Publication, Date of Post, URL of post.

Example:

     27. John Timmer, "Saving Fermi: NASA’s System for Avoiding Collisions With Space Junk," Scientific Method (blog), Arstechnica, May 8 2013, http://arstechnica.com/science/2013/05/saving-fermi-nasas-system-for-avoiding-collisions-with-space-junk.

Short Note:

Footnote #. Last-name, “Title Words."

Example:

30. Timmer, "Saving Fermi."

Bibliography Entry:

Title of Blog (blog). Title of Publication. URL of blog.

Example:

Scientific Method (blog). Arstechnica. http://arstechnica.com/science.

Author-Date

Since blogs often have multiple posts per day, you can include the time stamp or part of the post title after the date to ensure clarity.

Text Citation:

(Last-name Date of Post; Title Words)

Example:

(Timmer May 8 2013; Saving Fermi)

Reference Entry:

Title of Blog (blog). Title of Publication. URL of blog.

Example:

Scientific Method (blog). Arstechnica. http://arstechnica.com/science.

Source: Adapted from West Virginia University 

Print Book, One author. 

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name, Title of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Kevin Mitnick, Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker, (New York: Little, Brown and Co., 2011) 47.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

4. Mitnick, Ghost in the Wires, 102.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Mitnick, Kevin. Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker. New York: Little, Brown
     and Co. 2011.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Mitnick 2011)

Reference:

Last-name, First-name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Mitnick, Kevin. 2011. Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker. New York: Little, 
     Brown and Co.

Adapted from West Virginia University 

2 - 3 Authors 

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name and First-name Last-name. Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Simon Constable and Robert E. Wright, The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that Really Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market, (New York: Harper Business, 2011), 23.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

6. Constable and Wright, 50 Economic Indicators, 23.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name and First-name Last-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Constable, Simon and Robert E. Wright. The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that Really
     Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market. New
     York: Harper Business, 2011.

Author-Date

• Cite all authors in every citation
• Separate author names using and

Text Citation:

(Last-name and Last-name Year)

Example:

(Constable and Wright 2011)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First-name and First-name Last-name. Year. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Constable, Simon and Robert E. Wright. 2011. The Wall Street Journal Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators that 
     Really Matter: From Big Macs to "Zombie Banks," the Indicators Smart Investors Watch to Beat the Market. 
     New York: Harper Business.

Adapted from West Virginia University

Print More than 3 authors 

Note-Bibliography

First Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name et al., Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Page #. 

Example:

     3. Oscar Diamond et al., How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat, (New York:
Knopf, 2000), 13.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, Shortened Title, Page #.

Example:

4. Diamond et al., How to Care, 13.

Bibliography Entry:

In the bibliography, list all authors in the same order as for 1 & 2-author titles.

Last-name, First-name. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Diamond, Oscar, Misha Jones, Seamus Harper, and Sydney Fox. How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat. New York:
     Knopf, 2000.

Author-Date

For more than three authors (or in some science publications, more than two), only the last name name of the first author is used in text citations, followed by et al. (and others). Note that et al. is not italicized in text citations.

Text Citation:

(Last-name et al. Year)

Example:

(Diamond et al. 2000)

Reference Entry:

For treatment of multiple authors in a bibliography or reference list, see 14.76, 15.9.

Last-name, First-name, First-name Last name, First-name Last-name, and First-name Last-name. Year. Title of Book. 
     Place of Publication: Publisher.

Example:

Diamond, Oscar, Misha Jones, Seamus Harper, and Sydney Fox. 2000. How to Care for Your Diabetic Cat. New 
     York: Knopf.

Adapted from West Virginia University

Print Book Chapters 

• These examples are for chapters or parts of works in which the chapters or parts have individual titles and author/s, but are included in collections or textbooks edited by others
  
• If the editors of a work are also the authors of all of the chapters, then it should be cited as a regular book
  
• The title of the chapter or part and the book title are both given maximal capitalisation
  
• The title of the chapter or part is enclosed in quotation marks

 Note-Bibliography

Note:

     Footnote #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor’s First-name Last-name (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Example:

     5. Ed Wood, “The Many Uses of Angora,” in Dress for Success, ed. Tom Johnson (Hollywood, CA: Paramount,
1957), 213.

Short Note:

Footnote #. Last-name, “Shortened Title,” page #

Example:

6. Wood, “The Many Uses,” 216.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. “Title of Chapter.” in Title of Book, edited by Editor’s First-name Last-Name, pages of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Wood, Ed. “The Many Uses of Angora.” In Dress for Success, edited by Tom Johnson, 213 – 36. Hollywood, CA: Paramount, 1957.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Wood 1957)

Reference Entry:

Author of  Part. Year. "Title of Chapter or Part." In Title of Book, Edition, edited by A. Editor and B. Editor, inclusive page 
     numbers. Place of publication: Publisher.

Example:

Wood, Ed. 1957. “The Many Uses of Angora.” In Dress for Success, edited by Tom Johnson, 213 – 36. Hollywood, 
     CA: Paramount.

Adapted from West Virginia University 

When citing the online version of a book, include the URL—or, if available, DOI—as part of the citation. The URL or DOI should be the last part of a full citation. Otherwise, follow the citation format laid out for print books.

eBook with DOI:

Note #. First-name Last-name, Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), doi: number

eBook with URL:

     Note #. First-name Last-name and First-name Last-name. Title of Book, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Retrieved
from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

Note:

     Genio C. Scott, Fishing in American Waters, (New York: American News Company, 1875), Retrieved from
http://books.google.com

Bibliography Entry:

Moed, H. Citation Analysis in Research Evaluation. Dordrecht, Netherlands: Springer. 2005. doi:
      10.1007/1-4020-3714-7.

Reference Entry:

Moed, H. 2005. Citation Analysis in Research Evaluation. Dordrecht, Netherlands: Springer. doi:
       10.1007/1-4020-3714-7.

Adapted from West Virginia University. 

Book Chapter eBook 

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. First-name Last-name, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor’s First-name Last-name, page #, (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), doi/url.

Example:

     1. MariaCaterina La Barbera, "Intersectional-Gender and the Locationality of Women 'in Transit'," in Feminism and Migration: Cross-Cultural Engagements, ed. Glenda Tibe Bonifacio, 17-31, (Amsterdam: Springer Netherlands, 2012), DOI 10.1007/978-94-007-2831-8_2.

     2. Andrew S. Erickson, “Chinese Sea Power in Action: The Counter Piracy Mission in the Gulf of Aden and Beyond,” In The PLA At Home and Abroad: Assessing the Operational Capabilities of China’s Military, edited by Roy Kamphausen, David Lai, and Andrew Scobell, 295-376. (Carlisle, PA: Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College, 2010), http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil.

Short Note:

Note #. Last-name, “Shortened Title,” section.

Example:

3. La Barbera,"Intersectional-Gender," 20.

4. Erickson, "Chinese Sea Power," 307.

Bibliography Entry:

Last-name, First-name. “Title of Chapter.” in Title of Book, edited by Editor’s First-name Last-Name, pages of chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. doi/url.

Example:

La Barbera, MariaCaterina. "Intersectional-Gender and the Locationality of Women 'in Transit'." in Feminism and
     Migration: Cross-Cultural Engagements, edited by Glenda Tibe Bonifacio, 17-31, (Amsterdam: Springer
     Netherlands, 2012), doi 10.1007/978-94-007-2831-8_2.

Erickson, Andrew S.. “Chinese Sea Power in Action: The Counter Piracy Mission in the Gulf of Aden and Beyond.”
     In The PLA At Home and Abroad: Assessing the Operational Capabilities of China’s Military. edited by Roy
     Kamphausen, David Lai, and Andrew Scobell. 295-376. Carlisle, PA: Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army
     War College, 2010. http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Last-name Year)

Example:

(Erickson 2010)

Reference Entry:

Last-name, First-name of chapter author. Year. "Title of Chapter or Part." In Title of Book, Edition, edited by A. Editor and 
     B. Editor, inclusive page numbers. Place of publication: Publisher. doi/url.

Example:

Erickson, Andrew S.. 2010. “Chinese Sea Power in Action: The Counter Piracy Mission in the Gulf of Aden and 
     Beyond.” In The PLA At Home and Abroad: Assessing the Operational Capabilities of China’s Military. edited by 
     Roy Kamphausen, David Lai, and Andrew Scobell. 295-376. Carlisle, PA: Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. 
     Army War College. http://www.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil.

Citing Audio / Video Resources 

Documentation of any type of audio/video recording includes as much of the following information as possible:

• Name of the composer, writer, performer, or other person primarily responsible for the content;
• Title, in italics or quotation marks, as applicable 
• Name of the recording company or publisher; any identifying number of the recording;
• Indication of medium (compact disc, audiocassette, audiovisual file, etc.);
• Copyright date or date of production or performance.
• Recordings consulted online should include a URL or DOI.
• Supplementary information, such as the number of discs in an album and the duration of the recording, as applicable, may also be given.

Add the original date (year only) of the film's release if it is significantly different from the year that the DVD or Videocassette was manufactured

Adapted from West Virginia University 

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. Series Title, "Episode/Segment Title," Website Name video, Duration of Video, Broadcast Date, URL.

Example:

     13. Once Upon A Time, "Second Star to the Right," Hulu video, 43:04, May 5, 2013,  http://www.hulu.com/watch/486422.

Short Note:

Note #. Series Title, "Episode/Segment Title."

Example:

21. Once Upon A Time.                       OR                          21. Once Upon A Time, "Second Star."

Bibliography:

Series Title. "Episode/Segment Title." Website Name video. Duration of Video, Broadcast Date. URL.

Example:

Once Upon A Time. "Second Star to the Right." Hulu video, 43:04. May 5, 2013. 
     http://www.hulu.com/watch/486422.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Author Year)

Example:

(Once Upon A Time 2013)

Reference Entry:

Series Title. Year "Episode/Segment Title." Website Name video. Duration of Video, Broadcast Month Day. URL.

Example:

Once Upon A Time. 2013. "Second Star to the Right." Hulu video, 43:04. May 5. 
     http://www.hulu.com/watch/486422.

Adapted from West Virginia University.

Video (online)

Note-Bibliography

Note:

Note #. Author, "Title of Video," Name of Website, Duration of Video, Publication Date. URL.

Example:

     11. TopGear, "Pagani Zonda F vs Bugatti Veyron drag race - Top Gear - BBC," YouTube video, 9:30, March 20, 2009. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyC3CWDlEzY&list=PL487DFAB0946D69F0&index=59.

Short Note:

Note #. Author, "Title of Video."

Example:

15. TopGear.                     OR                          15. TopGear, "Pagani Zonda."

Bibliography:

Author. "Title of Video." Name of Website. Duration of Video. Publication Date. URL.

Example:

TopGear. "Pagani Zonda F vs Bugatti Veyron drag race - Top Gear - BBC." YouTube video, 9:30. March 20, 2009.
     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyC3CWDlEzY&list=PL487DFAB0946D69F0&index=59.

Author-Date

Text Citation:

(Author Year)

Example:

(TopGear 2009)

Reference Entry:

Author. Publication Date. "Title of Video." Name of Website. Duration of Video. URL.

Example:

TopGear. 2009. "Pagani Zonda F vs Bugatti Veyron drag race - Top Gear - BBC." YouTube video, 9:30. March 20.
     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyC3CWDlEzY&list=PL487DFAB0946D69F0&index=59.

Adapted from West Virginia University.