Start Here
What can I find with OneSearch?
OneSearch includes over 1 million items, including books, journal articles, conference proceedings, audio/visual media, dissertations, reports, and other research resources in subscription journals and databases. OneSearch provides direct links to full-text items where available. You will also find:
- OSCAR records for books, journals, government documents, maps, scores, and media in all formats
- Articles from scholarly and peer-reviewed journals
- Newspaper and Magazine articles
- SCU Digital Library materials
To find books on your topic:
1. Go to OSCAR, the library catalog:
-
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
2. Enter keywords describing your topic. For example:
- safe spaces and college campuses
- first generation students and challenges
- homelessness and BIPOC adults
3. REMINDER: Always check the locations of the books in OSCAR. Some books are located in the ARS (Automated Retrieval System) and you need to request them, while some are in the stacks on the first floor of the library by call number.
To find eBooks
What is a database?
A database in general is a collection of information organized to be searched by computer. On the SCU Library Website, our electronic databases are collections of articles or in-depth reports that you can retrieve online.
The library has subscriptions to both general databases (example: Academic Search Complete) or subject specific databases (example, English or Ethnic Studies). These databases usually provide full-text access to journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides access to over 5,600 active full-text journals and over 6,500 open access journals. Covers topics that range from business, education, social sciences, humanities, engineering, and science. Coverage varies, updates also vary.
- Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database contains two collections: 1) A current collection (1990-present) of full- text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) A History collection (1959-1989) of full-text newspapers, magazines and journals, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provies full text access to over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to NYTimes.com, New York Times mobile apps, and New York Times in Education. Registration is required. Content includes Breaking News, Multimedia, Opinion, Blogs, Videos and more.
- Mercury News Historical and Current Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full-image newspaper pages from 1900 to present, the full text of the electronic edition of record of the newspaper from 1985 to the present, and web edition articles from 2007 to present. Full-image newspaper pages of the Evening News from 1884 to 1983 are also included. Current content also available through Mercury News (MercuryNews.com).
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a historical archive of the oldest and largest Black-owned newspaper in the western United States on the grass-roots struggle against the racially restrictive housing covenants of the 1940s, including first-hand accounts of politics, society, and events.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers (many of them bilingual) published between 1808 - 1980. Included are newspapers from California, Texas, New Mexico, New York, and many other states.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles for 522 U.S. regional, national and international newspapers like USA Today, Indian Country Today and The Times (London). Also offered are transcripts from major network television and radio news, such as Face the Nation, CBS Evening News, CNN Reliable Sources, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, etc. Dates of coverage vary.