Best Sources for Trade Knowledge
A trade publication (often a magazine) is an information source that is intended for a very specific audience and will have content that appeals to that audience. The content may come directly from people within the industry, or it may come from freelance or staff writers that have vast experiences writing for that particular trade.
Professionals often subscribe to trade magazines (examples: Automation World, Adweek) in order to gather valuable information that will help them achieve something within their industry or field.
Trade publications are a Marketer's secret weapon and can be helpful for tracking recent industry developments, identifying competitors or market opportunities, or even finding industry conferences or "trade shows" where the experts are gathering. Use these resources to find and investigate trade publications:
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database is a comprehensive source for information on all business topics, includes company profiles, industry trends, etc. Limit results by trade publications in the sidebar.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to thousands of full-text business publications and international content, including the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Also includes market data, company and industry news, and multilingual content from more than 8,000 sources.
Trade Association Lists & Insights
Trade associations are often a valuable source of industry information. Many trade associations collect statistics and other data. Use these resources to find associations relevant to your industry (example: "Wind Solar Alliance"):
- ITA SelectUSAFederal government program housed within the U.S. Department of Commerce charged to promote and facilitate business investment into the United States. Select an Industry > Click "See Industry Associations > Follow leads to Industry publications, etc.
- Association ExecsOnline database of 204,908+ decision-makers from national, state/regional associations, and association management firms. Visit association websites to gather data or explore industry trends.
- Wikipedia List of U.S. Industry Trade AssociationsWhile not comprehensive, Wikipedia maintains a list of major associations organized by industry
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers / ThomasNetIndustry news, trends, white papers, product reviews and features. Includes topics such as supply chain, manufacturing innovation, case studies, and company reports.
- IQS Directory: Manufacturing AssociationsAs a North American manufacturing company directory, IQS Directory provides a comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing sector.
- Valuation Resources - Industry InformationA portal linking to individual industry guides that provide sources for industry information, research, and analysis for more than 400 industries. Guides often list resources available from trade associations, industry publications, research firms, and other sources. Be aware that some links lead to resources that aren't necessarily "free".