Research Guides: Industry Research: Statistics

Industry Statistics

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides insight and analysis on more than 700 industries in the United States. Each report covers: Competitive landscape, major companies, industry performance, barriers to entry, etc.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides 2,000 data types across 11 categories: Automotive and transport, Consumer markets, Economic indicators, Foreign trade, Industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, Leisure and lifestyles, Population and households, Resources and environment, Retailing, Service markets, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Visual Capitalist
Data-driven visuals on topics ranging from money, energy, healthcare, politics, technology, and politics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Tool for visually exploring data indicators across demography, economy, health, religion, crime and more. Users can visualize and interact with data, create reports and downloads for offline processing.
Data-Planet This link opens in a new window
Note: This database has changed names. It is now called Sage Data.
Data-Planet provides access to a repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources.

BLS Industries at a Glance
‘Snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. Many IAG tables also include additional industry detail, including state, county, and metropolitan area data. Check out the "Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey" for state-specific job stats.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Indicators
Current/timely indicators of industry, including inventories, revenues, and more.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Includes accurate and objective data about the U.S. economy. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the U.S. economy. View data by topic or visit "Economy at a Glance".
U.S. Small Business Association - State Profiles
Office of Advocacy’s annual State Profiles provide a snapshot of each state’s small businesses. The profiles gather the latest federal economic data into state-by-state snapshots of small business health and economic activity by sector.

Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Index to statistics published by all the major agencies of the U.S. government from 1973-present, the computer equivalent of the American Statistics Index. Where available, hotlinks to the full text of these documents is included. In addition, from 1999- present, 25,000 full text tables from these same sources as well as from various state, non-governmental and international intergovernmental agencies are being added as a separate searchable subfile.
Compustat This link opens in a new window
Provides industry index information: Select Compustat - Monthly Updates - Select Region - Select Index Prices. Use 'Company Codes - Code Lookup to find industry specific codes.