Research Guides: Industry Research: Home

Best Bets for Industry Trends & Market Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides insight and analysis on more than 700 industries in the United States. Each report covers: Competitive landscape, major companies, industry performance, barriers to entry, etc. "Additional Resources" listed are also helpful.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1 million statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Provides 2,000 data types across 11 categories: Automotive and transport, Consumer markets, Economic indicators, Foreign trade, Industrial markets, IT and telecommunications, Leisure and lifestyles, Population and households, Resources and environment, Retailing, Service markets, and more.

MarketLine Industry Profiles via Business Source Complete
Includes key company information such as top competitors, major products and services, revenue and SWOT analyses.
Barnes Reports via Business Source Complete
Provides timely studies on the largest manufacturing, retail, wholesale and services industries and consumer buying trends in the United States. Includes estimates on industry establishments, inventories, capital expenditures, and metropolitan level data.

First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles on over 600 industry segments. Also includes "Industry Websites" for additional leads to critical information.
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as eMarketer, this database provides business forecasts, market data analysis, as well as statistics on Internat, eCommerce, online marketing, social media, and key performance indicators in marketing, advertising, retail, and eCommerce. Updated several times a year.
SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) This link opens in a new window
Provides digital and traditional media rates and data for the many facets of the advertising industry., noting editoral, programming and circulation content. Updated monthly.

GlobalEdge Industry Profiles
Source for international business-related resources, statistics, risk assessments, and events for 20 distinct industry sectors.
RKMA Market Research Handbook Series
Market research titles from Richard K. Miller Associates (RKMA) focused on various consumer-related markets such as E-Commerce, Sports, Entertainment, Tourism, etc.
MarketResearch.com
A leading provider of industry intelligence for businesses, consultants, etc. "Search Reports" for products or services and use the table of contents and descriptions locate important statistics (CAGR, TAM, market segments) . DO NOT ask the Library to purchase these reports. Most publishers provide a glimpse - Use multiple snapshots to inform your research.

Porter's Five Forces - A Model for Industry Analysis
A business analysis model that helps to explain why various industries are able to sustain different levels of profitability. The model was published in Michael E. Porter's book, "Competitive Strategy: Techniques for Analyzing Industries and Competitors."The Five Forces model is widely used to analyze the industry structure of a company/industry as well as corporate strategy.

Company Research
by Paul de Barros Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 859 views this year
Marketing
by Paul de Barros Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 453 views this year