Databases for Human Health & Disease
- HEALTH DATABASES
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowThe only specialized database dedicated to public health. Includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, environmental health, disease, nutrition, food safety & hygiene, health policy, and sociology of health topics from a global perspective.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowFocuses on sociological side of environmental health issues. Environmental topics in science, international studies, business, law, and politics. Full texts and abstracts. Sources include refereed journals, newspapers, magazines, videos, podcasts, images, case studies, and portals for 160+ nations with an interactive map.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowContains information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Indexing, abstracts and full-text of around 600 journals covering nursing and allied health subjects. 1975-present. Updated daily.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts professional and scholarly psychology journals and book chapters, plus dissertations and technical reports. The coverage includes over 1300 journals in 27 languages from approximately 50 countries. 1887-present. Updated monthly.
- INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowDatabase of the Educational Resources Information Center, indexing and abstracting education journal literature, as well as ERIC documents. 1966-present. Updated monthly.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
- IMAGESGuide to images in the public domain and images in SCU-subscribed databases.
How to Get Articles
How to Get Articles
Once you find articles that interest you, you can mark them and email the citations/abstracts to yourself.
To obtain the full article, click one of these buttons (whichever displays in the specific database):
or 
A new window opens to provide available choices in this order:
1. Links to full-text if we have journal online
2. Link to OSCAR (catalog) record if we have journal only in print (this is rare!)
3. Link to Interlibrary Loan if we do not have the journal. Create an easy, free account; fill out all citation information; and article pdf will be emailed to your SCU email account in an average of 2 business days.