Counseling Psychology Librarian
Library Chat
Statistics and Data
If you need help finding specific statistics or data, reach out to your CPSY librarian! The following links are examples of major sources for U.S. data on topics related to counseling psychology.
Mental Health & Wellbeing Resources
- Mental Health Statistics (NIMH)Statistics from the National Institute of Mental Health on prevalence, treatment, and cost of mental disorders.
- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data (SAMHSA)Data from the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
- Mental Health Data Sources (CDC)Collection of resources compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Mental Health & Substance Use (KFF)Data (including state reports) about mental health and substance use from the Kaiser Family Foundation, a major U.S. health policy nonprofit organization.
- Mental Health by the Numbers (NAMI)Compilation of statistics from a variety of sources, organized by the National Alliance on Mental Illness.
- Measure of America (SSRC)Information from the Social Science Research Council about well-being, opportunity, health, education, and living standards in America.
- ChildStats.govAccess reports from the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, including the annual "America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being," which examines 41 indicators of child and family well-being.
- Kids Count Data Center (AECF)A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, compiling data on children, youth, and families.
General Resources
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowOnline mapping tools and data related to United Statees demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Users can add their own data, create reports and download for offline processing. Updated regularly.
- Our World in DataOpen access resource collecting data on a broad range of topics.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowICPSR provides access to datasets in disciplines such as criminal justice, education, political science, public health, sociology, and substance abuse. Researchers can analyze the data using statistical software such as R, SPSS, or Stata. SCU is a member institution.
Background Information
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles from over 600 reference sources, as well as access to a wide range of information sources that include images, audio, and video. Topic Pages are informative overviews, and Mind Map assists narrowing and focusing research topics to improve database searching.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is a collection of Oxford University Press's dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas. Articles vary from general reference to in-depth discussion of specific topics. Subject areas include the sciences, classical literature, music, quotations, religion, social sciences, as well as law. Updated throughout the year.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provies full text access to over 200 subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.