Library Chat
Counseling Psychology Librarian
Find Articles
The Articles tab on the library homepage provides a quick search for academic, news, and magazine articles across many of the library's databases.
However, for most research topics in CPSY, using a specialized Psychology database will get you the best results.
Psychology Databases
APA PsycINFO is the recommended starting point for all research in counseling psychology. It has powerful filters to help you refine your results, including methodology, age group, and peer-reviewed. For help using PsycINFO, see the Library Search Tips tab on this guide.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to psychology journals, books, and dissertations. It is THE source for starting any psychology research project. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Other psychology-specific resources include:
-
ProQuest One Psychology This link opens in a new window[Trial through June 2026.] This database provides multidisciplinary, multiformat content related to psychology and counseling, covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, and more. Covers early 20th century to the present.
-
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and two other publishers. Most journals are covered from volume one to the present.
-
APA PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new windowPsycCRITIQUES (1956-2017) was produced by the American Psychological Association and contains 43,056 full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective.
-
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to book chapters published by the American Psychological Association (APA). It includes both important historical texts and current titles.
Other Databases
Depending on your topic, you may want to search in other subject databases to find relevant scholarly literature. The SCU Library subscribes to over 300 specialized research databases. Several relevant to counseling psychology are highlighted below. You can also view our list of recommended databases for CPSY.
Diversity
-
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of articles in Spanish, Portuguese, and English from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers published since the 1990s in Latin America and elsewhere in the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking world, as well as in the United States and other English-speaking countries.
-
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text scholarly and popular articles, journals, magazines, and regional newspapers on current or historically significant LGBTQ issues, studies, queer theory, and more.
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowThis database provides primary resources from the 16th to 20th centuries on the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender studies research along with LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) history and activism, psychology, and cultural studies.
Social & Behavioral Sciences
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations on the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1963 to present. Includes articles for social workers and counseling psychology professionals.
Health Sciences
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis database includes MEDLINE and indexes and abstracts articles, books, and multimedias on topics such as microbiology, health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health from 1966 to present.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and journals related to general health, nutrition and professional health care for academia from 1975 to present.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to abstracts, articles, conference proceedings, data sets and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Access Articles
Access Options
To access full text of articles, look for any of the following:
- PDF icon
- "Read Online" button
- "Access Options" drop-down menu, which will provide a list of ways you can access the full text
If there isn't an option to access a PDF or read the article online, click "Find It @ SCU Libraries." This searches across our library collections and takes you to a page with additional access options.
InterLibrary Loan
If we don't have an article, book chapter, or book in our collection, you can request these items via Interlibrary Loan. This is a free-to-you service. We deliver PDFs of articles and book chapters, and can also borrow print books for you from other libraries. Check out our InterLibrary Loan FAQ for more information and instructions about how to place a request.
LibKey Nomad
The SCU Library provides the LibKey Nomad browser extension to give you easy access to scholarly articles, no matter where you are searching. Download the free extension, select Santa Clara University as your organization, and access PDFs with a single click!
