Library Chat
Counseling Psychology Librarian
Find Books & Ebooks
The Books tab on the library homepage allows you to find books and ebooks in our collection.
After you have run a search, filter options appear to the left under "refine results." You can use the format filter to limit your results to e-books (available online) or books physically in the library.
Find a Book on the Shelf
For in-depth help, check out our guide to finding books in the library.
Search Beyond SCU Library
If you can't find a book on your topic at the SCU library, you can search across other libraries using WorldCat.org. Then, place a request for us to borrow the book you choose through InterLibrary Loan.
DSM-5 and 5-TR
The SCU Library provides access to the current versions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual or Mental Disorders (DSM) from the American Psychiatric Association.
The library has the DSM-5 online and the DSM-5-TR in print.
-
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5Online access to the 5th edition of the DSM, published in 2015.
-
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TRIn-library access to the Text Revision of the 5th edition of the DSM, published in 2022.
Treatment Planners
Included in the library collection are psychotherapy treatment planners, many of which are available as ebooks.
You can find these by adding the keywords treatment planner to your search terms, or browse the collection.
Examples include:
Background Information
Background information can be found in general online reference resources from the SCU Library, as well as in specific books and ebooks.
General Online Reference Resources
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles from over 600 reference sources, as well as access to a wide range of information sources that include images, audio, and video. Topic Pages are informative overviews, and Mind Map assists narrowing and focusing research topics to improve database searching.
Specific Books and Ebooks
Search the Books tab on the library homepage with keywords related to your topic AND (encyclopedia OR dictionary OR handbook) to find background sources for your research.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is a collection of Oxford University Press's dictionaries, companions and encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas. Articles vary from general reference to in-depth discussion of specific topics. Subject areas include the sciences, classical literature, music, quotations, religion, social sciences, as well as law. Updated throughout the year.