Library Chat
Education Librarian
Find Articles
The Articles tab on the library homepage provides a quick search for academic, news, and magazine articles across many of the library's databases.
However, for most research needs in EDUC, using a specialized Education database will get you the best results.
Education Databases
ERIC, a resource from the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES), is the recommended starting point for research in education. It contains articles from professional and scholarly education journals and magazines, as well as documents such as conference papers, dissertations, reports, and classroom materials. ERIC has many filters, including education level, intended audience, document type, language, and peer-reviewed.
ERIC is a critical resource for educators and policymakers, and it is accessible via a library subscription database (EBSCO) and in a freely-available online platform from the Department of Education. For help developing an article search, see the Library Search Tips tab on this guide. For help finding classroom materials in ERIC, see the Classroom & Children's Materials tab.
Note in 2025: The Department of Education has announced changed to the content indexed (included) in ERIC. You can read more about the changes in this June 2025 blog post from SFU Library and this April 2025 Hechinger Report article. The new ERICA archive preserves open access content from ERIC before any changes. Contact your Education librarian if you have questions.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC via EBSCO (SCU Library subscription). Database of the Educational Resources Information Center, indexing and abstracting education journal literature, as well as ERIC documents. 1966-present. Updated monthly.
-
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)ERIC via U.S. Department of Education (open access database). Search help available at https://eric.ed.gov/?advanced
-
ERICA (ERIC Archive)Data rescue catalog preserving over 500,000 Open Access publications originally hosted by the U.S. Department of Education in ERIC. Archive created Spring 2025.
Other education-specific resources include:
-
ProQuest One Education This link opens in a new window[Trial through June 2026.] This database provides full-text and scholarly literature, videos, and dissertations related to education research, covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, published from 1965 to the present.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and indexing to over 1,000 active open access journals, as well as conference papers, and videos covering all aspects of education. Dates of coverage and Updates vary.
-
Education Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over 500 active professional and scholarly education journals. Dates of coverage vary by title, some go back to 1900. Updates vary.
-
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text journals and periodicals related to all levels of education, from preschool to college. It covers various educational specialties like technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, and offers insights into administration, funding, and policy issues. Many of its titles are also found in the ERIC database.
Other Databases
Depending on your topic, you may want to search in other subject databases to find relevant scholarly literature. The SCU Library subscribes to over 300 specialized research databases. Several relevant to counseling psychology are highlighted below. You can also view our list of recommended databases for EDUC.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to discover scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Some content will be freely available on the web; most will only be accessible by subscription. This restricted link allows current University students, faculty, and staff to access the full text of licensed resources to which the University subscribes. Click on the "Find it @ SCU" links to see if the University has the article through its institutional database and e-journal subscriptions.
-
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals from 1871 to present on anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to abstracts, articles, conference proceedings, data sets and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Diversity
-
Diversity Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to three full-text databases, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Alt-PressWatch. GenderWatch covers gender and women studies and LGBTQ+ research from authoritative perspectives in academic, radical and community presses from 1970 to present. Ethnic NewsWatch contains newspapers, magazines, journals of the ethnic, minority, and native presses from 1985 to present. Alt-PressWatch includes independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals across the social and political spectrum from 1970 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of articles in Spanish, Portuguese, and English from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers published since the 1990s in Latin America and elsewhere in the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking world, as well as in the United States and other English-speaking countries.
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text scholarly and popular articles, journals, magazines, and regional newspapers on current or historically significant LGBTQ issues, studies, queer theory, and more.
-
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis database provides scholarly essays, journal articles, historic newspapers, fiction, poetry, archival records, and literary reviews in Black Studies. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Black Periodicals), the Black Literature Index, and historical black newspapers such as the Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975) and and the Daily Defender (1956-1975).
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database providing indexing and abstracts for disciplines including sociology, history, international relations and humanities. All sources relevant to Women's studies on a global scale. 1972 - present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to psychology journals, books, and dissertations. It is THE source for starting any psychology research project. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
-
ProQuest One Psychology This link opens in a new window[Trial through June 2026.] This database provides multidisciplinary, multiformat content related to psychology and counseling, covering psychological conditions, therapy, research concepts, and more. Covers early 20th century to the present.
Political Science and Public Policy
-
Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, and other research organizations.
-
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database covers political science topics in depth and has a worldwide focus. It includes scholarly journal articles, books, and conference papers.
Access Articles
Access Options
To access full text of articles, look for any of the following:
- PDF icon
- "Read Online" button
- "Access Options" drop-down menu, which will provide a list of ways you can access the full text
If there isn't an option to access a PDF or read the article online, click "Find It @ SCU Libraries." This searches across our library collections and takes you to a page with additional access options.
InterLibrary Loan
If we don't have an article, book chapter, or book in our collection, you can request these items via Interlibrary Loan. This is a free-to-you service. We deliver PDFs of articles and book chapters, and can also borrow print books for you from other libraries. Check out our InterLibrary Loan FAQ for more information and instructions about how to place a request.
LibKey Nomad
The SCU Library provides the LibKey Nomad browser extension to give you easy access to scholarly articles, no matter where you are searching. Download the free extension, select Santa Clara University as your organization, and access PDFs with a single click!
