Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WGST 106 - Writing Wrongs (Kolenz): Home

WGST 106: Writing Wrongs

This guide is designed to help you find good resources for your project on a gender justice topic of your choice. The emphasis is on finding reliable, academic sources  for your annotated bibliography and other assignments, using the library databases as well as the open web.  

Women's March, Pixabay.com

 

Need More Help?

If you need more help, don't hesitate to contact me:

Sophia Neuhaus
sneuhaus@scu.edu
408-554-5431 (office)

Search Tips

In the searches below, I will use intersectionality as a particular feminist theory. You can substitute any other theory that you want to focus upon. The databases listed are not the only possibilities, for example, JSTOR may have information on all these topics. Of course, as you progress with you research, you may find other ways to search as well. 

Search 1: gender discrimination in sports
Women's Studies International, LGBTQ Source, Social Sciences Fulltext, Academic Search Complete, OmniFile, Sociological Abstracts, ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection databases (first 5 can be searched together)

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (subject terms)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (select a field)
line 3: sports or athlet* or recreation or fitness (select a field) - last two terms might not be relevant

Search 2: Black Lives Matter, Chicanx, activist movements
Ethnic NewsWatch, Sociological Abstracts databases

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (all subjects & indexing)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (anywhere)
line 3: "black lives matter" or blm

Or, change line 3 to: chican*

Search 3: mental health
APA PsycInfo, Women's Studies International, Ethnic NewsWatch databases

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (select a field - first 2 databases)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (select a field)
line 3: mental health (select a field)
possible line 4: asian or japanese or chinese or korean or indian or pakistani or pacific islander (or any other particular ethnic group)
possible line 4: black or african american

Search 4: Race-based health disparities
Sociological Abstracts, ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection database

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (all subjects & indexing)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (anywhere)
line 3: health (all subjects & indexing)
line 4: race or racism or black or african american or native american or ethnic*

Search 5: sexual assault or harassment
Sociological Abstracts, Academic Search Complete, OmniFile, Women's Studies International databases

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (all subjects & indexing)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (anywhere)
line 3: sexual assault or harassment (anywhere)
line 4: campus or college or university (anywhere)
Or, line 4: military or armed forces or army or navy or air force or coast guard (anywhere)

Search 6: missing or murdered indigenous women
Sociological Abstracts, 

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (all subjects & indexing)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (anywhere)
line 3: indig* or native american or indian (anywhere)
line 4: missing or murder* or killed (anywhere)

Or, ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection

line 1: feminist theory or intersectional* (anywhere)
line 2: advoca* or activis* (anywhere)
line 3: indig* or native american or indian (abstract)
line 4: missing or murder* or killed (anywhere)
line 5: united states (anywhere)