Librarian
Paul de Barros
Contact:
On campus Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Virtual on Mondays and Thursdays.
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Santa Clara University
500 El Camino Real
Santa Clara, CA 95053
Free WSJ, NYT, Economist
SCU funds subscriptions to these publications for all students, faculty, and staff . Click to set up your individual accounts.
Top Business Magazines
- Business JournalsAccess to 44 Metro business weeklies. @scu.edu email address required.
- Regional Business News (via EBSCO)Access to 80 regional business publications
News
- Factiva (news aggregator)Full articles from thousands of news sources, text only (no graphics)
- Nexis Uni (news aggregator)Full articles from thousands of news sources, text only (no graphics)
- Regional Business News (via EBSCO)Access to 80 regional business publications
More sources
- Business Journals This link opens in a new windowAccount creation using @scu.edu email address required. Access to 44 metropolitan U.S. business weeklies published by American City Business Journals, including the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal. Also includes the Book of Lists. For help finding regional business journals, watch this video.
- NewsBank Access Business NewsFull-text electronic editions of more than 350 business and law journals, local and regional business news weeklies, and other news sources across North America—many of which are unavailable elsewhere [e.g. U.S. Business Publications].
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window1,700 full-text, peer-reviewed journals. 1,600 business trade and general business publications. Includes case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive full-text for over 80 regional business publications, including Investors Business Daily, Crain's New York, etc. Dates of coverage for some publications go back to 1990 and content is updated daily.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of full-text business publications including newspapers, newswires, journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also includes company and financial information. Click the "Home" tab for "Trending" News and today's "Front Pages."
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of thousands of magazine and newspaper articles, news wires, legal, and government sources. Dates of coverage and updates vary from title to title. Includes company and country profiles.
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers go back as far as 1977. See "Hot Topics" for the most current global issues.
- Gale OneFile: NewsProvides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Time coverage varies by title, with some going back to the early 80s.
- National Newspaper Index This link opens in a new windowNow known as InfoTrac Newsstand, this resource provides full-text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Search here for global new publications.
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowFlipster is a digital newsstand that includes magazines such as The New Yorker, Time, Variety, National Geographic, and The Atlantic, among others.
- Mercury News (MercuryNews.com) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to content at MercuryNews.com. Mercury News content includes breaking news, local news, sports, opinion, things to do, and more.
- Newseum - Today's Front PagesThe Newseum collection includes more than 40,000 print news items, 200,000-plus photographic prints and negatives and more than 22,000 objects related to news gathering and First Amendment freedoms. Listed here are today's front pages from around the world.
- Find Newspapers, Magazines, JournalsSearch here for any publication title. For example: Sports Illustrated.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1,000 full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Several titles include; Journal of Banking & Finance, Journal of Marketing Research, Quarterly Journal of Economics, and countless others. After searching, check the box for "Peer Reviewed."
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. After searching, check the box for "Peer Reviewed."
- ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowContains more than 7,000 publications and dissertations in the social sciences, including more than 400 in business and economics. Before searching, check the box for "Peer reviewed."
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1,000 business, management and accounting peer-reviewed journals and publications. Includes high impact journals such as Journal of Financial Economics, Journal of Product Innovation Management, and at least 150 others.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Economic Association, EconLit provides access to some of the most sought-after peer-reviewed journals in Economics, such as the Journal of Urban Economics, Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics, Journal of Economic Perspectives, and many others.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIncludes ~30% of the world's electrical engineering and computer science literature in a single source. IEEE peer-reviewed journals are scattered throughout the database. Several titles include: IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and IEEE Access.
- WSJ What's News
Recent: Shortage of Boeing, Airbus Jets Adds to Airline Woes - Marketplace
Recent: Even economists can’t make sense of this economy - How I Built This
Recent: Rivian: RJ Scaringe - Planet Money
Recent: The Midnight Connection - HBR IdeaCast
Recent: Introducing 4 Business Ideas That Changed the World - TED Business
Recent: A creator-led internet, built on blockchain | Adam Mosseri - After Hours
Recent: Quiet Quitting - Trade Talks
Recent: Will new US tax credits remake electric vehicle supply chains?
Business School Insights
- Knowledge at WhartonThe online business journal of the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.
- Insights by Stanford BusinessContent created by Stanford GSB. Hot topics include big data, social impact, management and leadership.
- Working Knowledge by Harvard Business SchoolConnecting HBS's leading edge research and ideas on business management with practitioners, thought-leaders, and academics.
- InTheKnow by INSEADA blog featuring posts by INSEAD faculty, etc.
Industry Insights
- Deloitte InsightsExamine the Deloitte Insights Magazine, spotlights, and other key insights.
- MSCI Research and InsightsOver 600 items, including reports and analysis on social, environmental, and finance topics.
- MarketLine BlogEmerging tech blog, featuring analysis on global startups, macroeconomics, tech, etc.
- S&P Global - The Market Intelligence BlogExpert insights from Market Intelligence analysts on topics ranging from climate, governments, insurance, telecom, etc.
- IBM Institute for Business ValueBrowse featured insights by category, such as subsectors in Technology, Industry, etc.
- Data Is PluralWeekly newsletter of useful datasets.
- StartUs InisghtsIncludes trend reports, sector reports, and technologies insights. Good primer for further research.
- globalEDGE BlogCurrent business and economic insights from a global perspective.
Tech Newsletters
- The Daily StackA financial insights newsletter covering the world of private markets by PrivCo.
- 100 Best Business Books of All TimeFeatures recommendations from Warren Buffett, Oprah Winfrey, Malcolm Gladwell, and 891 other experts.
- USA Today Top 150Filter by author, title, or genre (e.g. business, economics, science/technology).
- The New York Times Best SellersFilter on monthly lists for "Business"
- Amazon Best Sellers in BooksFilter by "Business & Money"
- 40 High-Impact Books for EntrepreneursList compiled by goodreads.
- Goodreads Best Business BooksIncludes 920 influential business books.
- GatesNotes BooksIncludes book reviews and books sorted by theme.