Citation Tools
Generate a Citation
- ProQuest Research Companion Citation BuilderA tool available through SCU Library's subscriptions. Login required.
- Video: How to Generate a Citation in a DatabaseMost databases to which the library subscribes provide a citation generator tool.
- EasyBib MLA Citation GeneratorUse this tool to build a citation in MLA format. Free on the web. May contain ads or require registration.
- EasyBib APA Citation GeneratorUse this tool to build a citation in APA format. Free on the web. May contain ads or require registration.
Citation Management Tools
- EndNote for WebClick "register" to create a free account through SCU Library if you are a new user. EndNote for Web is a cloud-based citation management tool available through SCU Library's subscription to the Web of Science database. Login required.
Citation Style Guides
Some style guides are only available as books in the library, and others are available as interactive online databases. Below are three common citation styles.
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the new 9th edition of the MLA Handbook, the official, authoritative source for the MLA citation format, now fully searchable and enhanced with over 500 sample citations.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010 c.3ISBN: 9781433805615Publication Date: 2009"The Manual" is the bible of APA citation style.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the complete, fully-searchable text of the 18th (2024) edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
Use MLA Citation Style for this Class
Use MLA Citation Style for this Class
This is an easy-to-use citation style that utilizes in-text citations and a works cited page at the end.
Remember, there are two main components to MLA Style: the in-text citations, and the works cited list at the end, not to mention the conventions of formatting the paper.
MLA Handbook Online
- The definitive guide to the style. An ebook recently acquired by SCU Library.
In-Text Citations: Overview
- Use this section to get guidance on the basics of how to quote sources in your paper.
Works-Cited-List Entries by Publication Format
- Use this section for an extensive list of examples to use as a model for your citations.
Formatting Your Research Project
- Use this section for guidance on formatting your paper, such as margins, title, header, font, etc.
Other Tools for MLA Style
Other Tools for MLA Style
The OWL at Purdue
- MLA General Format
- Cite Your Source Automatically Citation Generator - available on every page
- Example Paper in MLA Format (PDF)
- Example List of Works Cited in MLA Format
Citation Tools in Databases
Citation Tools in Databases
Most SCU Library databases have a citation tool built-in. You can use this to generate a citation, but beware!
Garbage in, garbage out!
If something is wrong with the citation information in the database (a.k.a. the metadata), then that problem will translate over to the citation.
It's important to check this citation.
APA 7th Edition Learning Resources
Read the descriptions of the tools listed below carefully to select the one most useful for your immediate needs. There's a splendid variety available.
Keep in mind that most library databases will offer to provide you with a APA formatted citation. However, most of the time, you will need to tweak them a bit! One of the most common mistakes is the failure to Not Capitalize all the words in an article title, for example!
- Reference Examples ChartAll the different types of things you might reference organized in a chart with hotlinks to examples of how that thing would appear in References, in a parenthetical citation and as a narrative citation. Very cool!
- Student Paper Formatting ChecklistWell-laid out with hotlinks to more information for complex elements. Easy to skim to get to the piece you need, but can also be read through quickly. 7 pages long.
- Creating an APA Style Reference ListShort and sweet ... really seems to zero in on the most common questions/issues that arise. Should be read from beginning to end -- only 2 pages!
- Journal Article Reference ChecklistReally short but focused on the main issues with citing journal articles.
- Quick Reference GuideQuick annotated example/description of citation for BOOK, BOOK CHAPTER, JOURNAL ARTICLE.
- Reference ExamplesAn example of every sort of thing you'd want to reference laid out clearly in 4 pages!
- APA Style Reference Formatting ActivityA "fix these" type activity clearly designed to go along with the 4-page Reference Examples handout linked here.
Citing a special issue of a journal. Example from https://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2012/05/citing-a-special-issue-or-special-section-in-apa-style.html
![Rotf, L. (Ed.). (2012). Beyond the LOLcats: Maru, Nyan Cat, and more [Special issue]. The Journal of Internet Memes, 115(3).](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/16300/images/APA_Style_Special_Issue_Journal.png)