Research Guides: Resources on Fashion, Politics, and Issues of Gender: Articles & More

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Finding Journal Articles & More

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES AND MORE

You can find articles in scholarly journals by using the following indexes. Many of them will also lead you to information published in books and other publications. Just as the study of fashion crosses many fields of study, these indexes approach the subject from the perspective of different disciplines. Which ones to use will depend on your topic and the approach to fashion study that you have chosen to emphasize.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This is the most important research tool in the field of psychology, indexing articles in professional and scholarly psychology journals, books, and other publications published throughout the world from 1887 to the present. It is especially helpful when researching the psychological aspects of human adornment, body image, and the motivations behind why people wear what they do.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This is the basic index to journal articles published since 1929 in the field of art. Because fashion involves many issues of artistic design and textile crafts, this is a useful index to use when researching many issues related to fashion. It covers the major journals in the field of fashion study and provides the full text online (but often not the illustrations) for some of their articles back to 1997.
The full text of articles in selected periodicals is available online from 1995, or later, to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This index is especially useful when researching the fashion industry and issues of marketing, production, and distribution. It covers articles published in over 3,000 scholarly journals and business trade magazines, as well as books and a variety of other business publications.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing journal articles in the area of communication studies and mass media, this index is especially helpful when researching issues of advertising, persuasion, and the influencing of consumer attitudes.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This index is very useful in finding articles on fashion across many fields in the social sciences. It indexes the most important journals in such fields as anthropology, psychology, sociology, ethnic studies, political science, economics, and more.