Research Guides: Resources on Fashion, Politics, and Issues of Gender: Bibliographic Essays

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Bibliographic Essays

BIBLIOGRAPHIC ESSAYS

Bibliographic essays can be very helpful in the early stages of doing research, because they orient you to the works of the most important scholars doing research and writing in the field you are studying. The Bibliographic Guides in the Berg Fashion Library database are excellent examples. They provide a concise overview of all the key readings and schools of thought within a particular area of fashion research. Structured thematically, these articles include links to essential articles and e-book chapters within the Berg Fashion Library as well as references to other texts, providing a comprehensive bibliography with commentary and suggestions for further reading. For the student working to become familiar with an unfamiliar approach to the study of fashion, these bibliographic essays are a perfect starting point for your research.