Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Scholarly Article:
1. Is written by a scholar in the field for a scholarly journal;
2.Has been through a scholarly referee process to be evaluated by experts in the field;
3. Is aimed at a specialized audience and uses the jargon of the discipline;
4. Includes documentation in the form of notes, footnotes, and bibliography;
5.Is usually pretty long (a two-page article is not likely to be a scholarly one)
How to Recognize a Scholarly Journal
Best Databases for the Holocaust
Historical Abstracts with full-text This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history of the world (except the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward. It provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, as well as access to the full text of more than 316 journals and more than 138 books.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts English-language articles in the most important journals in the humanities, from 1984-present. The full text of many of these articles is available online from 1995 forward. Updated daily. For indexing of articles appearing prior to 1984, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes nearly 1200 scholarly journals covering the entire range of the humanities and social sciences from 1907-1984. Also covers many important scientific journals through the 1950s. For indexing of articles appearing 1985-present, use Social Sciences Full Text and/or Humanities Full Text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database providing access to more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Covers a wide range of academic topics including business, education, social sciences, humanities, science, & engineering. Coverage varies, with some publications going back to 1911.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Business Full Text. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Updated daily.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Index to periodicals, research in ministry, book reviews in religion and Methodist reviews. 1949-present. Updated semi-annually. Includes online versions of the entire runs of a core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly periodicals in the field of religion, most of which go back to 1949.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ is really two databases, a current one, beginning in 1990 and including newspapers, magazines, and journals of the American ethnic and minority press, including scholarly ethnic studies journals.This is updated daily with new content. The other database is a historical file covering the years 1959-1989, incuding a rare collection of over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-1989.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, and other fields of the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Updated monthly.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
How to Search
How to Search the Databases:
Just enter keywords describing your topic. Use the connector AND between your keywords or enter keywords in different search boxes. For example if you are interested in the ways various groups of people resisted the Holocaust, you can try this search:
You can use synonyms or related terms to describe your topics. For example, "resistance or underground movements" in the search above.
You can also use an asterisk at the end of a word to retrieve various endings. For example, resist* would retrieve resistance as well as resisters.
When you look at your list of results in the database, If the full-text of an article is not readily available i, click on the FIND IT AT SCU icon to see if it's available in another database or in print in the library.