Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 2A: Communities & Rhetorics (Tremblay-McGaw)

From Idea to Library: What's a Database Again?

Get Foundations: Encyclopedias

To find a broad overview of your topic, try one of these reference sources collection.  Specialized encyclopedia databases can be used at the beginning of your research to help you get a grasp on some of the basics and the language. 

Get Comprehensive: Browse and Find Ebooks

We have you covered for books -- there are more than 160,000 ebooks in the library.  Use them for identifying and exploring broad and deep conversations around your topic. Follow the instructions below.


Step 1:  Start your search for ebooks directly off the library homepage under the "streaming videos/ebooks" tab.  

Sample search string under the eBooks tab. Use the search string "business ethics AND religion".

Step 2: Keep your search words focused on the big ideas or concepts. Use just a few essential words like "business ethics", "religion" or even a name of particular religious tradition like "Islam".

Step 3: Once you find a title you like, connect to it by clicking on the "connect to this title online" box.

Image of a sample title called "Entrepreneurship and Management in an Islamic Context".

Go Scholarly: Use Academic Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases
Ethnic Studies & Women's Studies
Communications & Criminal Justice Databases
Other Social Sciences & Humanities Databases
Browse Databases By Subject

To browse all SCU databases by subject, visit the Databases By Subject page.  

Database: Communication Source

To find an article (Magazine, Scholarly), enter each different concept in its own search box. 

Search terms with synonyms might be:

true crime stories / crime drama / true crime entertainment

 

Example 1:

Example 2:

 

Go Visual: Find Documentaries & Films