Research Guides: MKTG 182: Analysis for Marketing Decisions: Company Research

Best Bets for Company Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Includes public company profiles, company overviews, financial statements, stock information, SEC Reports, news headlines, annual reports, tear sheets, and more. Analyst reports are available via the Investext tab at the top.
InvestorEdge This link opens in a new window
Includes over 4000 equity research reports, updated weekly; recommendations from Ford Equity Research; company annual reports, industry reports, and corporate bond reports. Select the company tab for financials.

MarketLine Reports via Business Source Complete
Includes key company information such as top competitors; major products and services; revenue and SWOT; industry profiles with market value, segmentation and forecasts.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics, reports and insight on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 countries, with content that ranges from forecasts, surveys, white paper reports, and daily data. Insight reports cover the market, consumers, companies, as well as e-commerce.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news; along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. To use "Company Dossier," pop up blocker must be turned off.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on American public and private businesses. Data provided ranges from addresses, number of employees, sales figures, credit score, type of location (branch, subsidiary, headquarters), SIC code, to line of business (e.g. computer software). Updated monthly.

Form 10-K / Annual Report

U.S. public companies usually state business strategies in PART I of their form 10-K (or annual report) filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The business overview in the 10-K includes a discussion of the company's strategy, products and services, operations, marketing, distribution, international business, suppliers and government regulation.

Locate annual reports on the company's website, or examine the following:

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Includes public company profiles, company overviews, financial statements, stock information, SEC Reports, news, tear sheets, and more.

EDGAR
Search EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) by company name, ticker symbol, or CIK to find company SEC filings.
Seeking Alpha
A mostly free investment research platform that includes earnings call transcripts and SEC filings. Insight is provided by investors and industry experts rather than sell-side analysts.

Offices and Services at Santa Clara University

Schools and Colleges

Centers of Distinction

MKTG 182: Analysis for Marketing Decisions

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Guides

Best Bets for Company Information

Form 10-K / Annual Report