Skip to Main Content
Santa Clara UniversityUniversity Library

Social Justice in Libraries

Workshop Two

Slides from Workshop Two

The slides from Workshop Two are embedded below. The outcome of the discussion can be found in the box below. 

Social Justice Library - Definitions

A sheet of paper that reads: A library that works incrementally and iteratively to create an environment that welcomes and considers all people. We do this work internally to support working externally, and acknowledge no problem is addressed by a single solution.

A library that works incrementally and iteratively to create an environment that welcomes and considers all people. We do this work internally to support working externally, and acknowledge no problem is addressed by a single solution. 

A sheet of paper that says A social justice library recognizes and acts on its responsibility to provide equitable (service) and access to its community through its collection, services, and events in both physical and virtual environments.

A social justice library recognizes and acts on its responsibility to provide equitable (service) and access to its community through its collection, services, and events in both physical and virtual environments.

A sheet of paper that reads: A social justice library provides equitable services and programs to its users through its collections, services, and physical online environments On-going reflection & continuous learning Distinguishes, differentiates, personalizes -> beware of average Connection & active engagement of our users & our community stakeholders Welcome, empower and engage in SJ issues

A social justice library provides equitable services and programs to its users through its collections, services, and physical online environments

  • On-going reflection & continuous learning
  • Distinguishes, differentiates, personalizes -> beware of average
  • Connection & active engagement of our users & our community stakeholders
  • Welcome, empower and engage in SJ issues

A sheet of paper that reads: A social justice library strives to… Apply universal design for accessibility Transform policies, collections, and services (toward equity?) Support the continued growth of staff to reflect on actions, biases, conceptions… Prioritize community needs, especially at the margins, Increase representation of under-represented identities in collections, programs & services Collaborate with stakeholders & peers to transform systems to which we belong

A social justice library strives to…

  • Apply universal design for accessibility
  • Transform policies, collections, and services (toward equity?)
  • Support the continued growth of staff to reflect on actions, biases, conceptions…
  • Prioritize community needs, especially at the margins, 
  • Increase representation of under-represented identities in collections, programs & services
  • Collaborate with stakeholders & peers to transform systems to which we belong