Research Guides: Resources on the Italian-American Experience : Images

Quick Links

Library Home Page This link opens in a new window
OSCAR - SCU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

List of Library Databases

Find Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window
Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, in print or online at the SCU Library.
Merriam-Webster Unabridged This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of the English language as it is currently used today.
The famous unabridged is the latest in the long line of dictionaries directly descended from Noah Websters original English-language dictionary of 1828. It is updated on a continuing basis.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
A team of librarians available to help you with library resources and search for information, every day at any time. The chat is interactive and always with a live person.

Get Help 24/7

Images

IMAGES AND DIGITAL OBJECTS

The following websites are good sources for finding photographs and other images, and digital facsimiles of other materials, illustrating the history of Italian Americans in the United States.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This database provides more than 2.5 million high-quality images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more, from the collections of the world's leading museums and archives.
In addition to reproductions of a wide range of works of art and architecture from all times and places throughout the world, this database also contains photographs and other images useful for study in many disciplines in the humanities and social sciences.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is a collection of over 500,000 photos from the Associated Press, featuring state, regional, and national photos from North America, as well as international photos, some dating back as far as 1844.

Calisphere
This website provides access to historically important digitized artifacts in the collections of the campuses of the University of California and other libraries, archives, and museums in California. It contains over two million photographs, images, texts, and recordings.
Italian-Language American Imprints: The Periconi Collection
This collection of digitized publications presents a broad representative sample of Italian-language books, newspapers, and magazines published in the United States from the late 19th century to World War II.
Images
This is a guide to finding online images that can be used for educational purposes. Included are sources for finding freely-available images in the public domain, Creative Commons licensed images, and images in databases to which Santa Clara University's library subscribes.