Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles and More
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
America: History & Life with Full Text
This is the major database for finding what has been written in journal articles and books since 1964 about the history and culture of the United States and Canada. It is the first source to check when researching the history of Italian Americans in North America.
This is the major index to journal articles, reports, and essays published in books in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and folklore from the 19th century to the present. It is an excellent source for finding articles on food, gender roles, and many other customs of Italians and Italian Americans.
This database is a comprehensive guide to what has been written in journal articles, books, and more since 1915 about communication and media issues. It is an excellent place to look to find discussions of the stereotyping of Italian Americans in the mass media.
This database contains the full text online of articles published since 1959 in the ethnic and minority press in the United States. It includes newspapers, magazines, and journals that are regional or national in scope and is the only source for finding many publications that are not easily available otherwise. It is an excellent source to read what Italian Americans are saying in publications devoted to their interests.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
This database indexes journal articles published from 1907 to 1984 on all aspects of the humanities and the social sciences. Included are such fields as anthropology, art, economics, ethnic studies, literature, political science, sociology, and the performing arts. It is an excellent source to use to find articles from most of the 20th century on any of these aspects of the Italian American experience.
Humanities Full Text
This database indexes journal articles published since 1984 on all aspects of the humanities, including art, literature, and the performing arts. It is an excellent source to use when researching any of these aspects of the Italian American experience.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
This database is an excellent source for finding articles in journals, books, conference proceedings and more on all aspects of the social sciences. It is especially useful for researching the social and cultural aspects of the Italian American experience in the United States.
Social Sciences Full Text
This database indexes journal articles published since 1983 on all aspects of the social sciences, including anthropology, economics, ethnic studies, political science, and sociology. It is an excellent source to use when researching any of these aspects of the Italian American experience.