Keywords for Searching
Two options:
- Think of a (famous) person who you consider a hero. Search their name. What headlines come up describing the person?
- Perform a more general search using synonyms for hero. What words would you use to define or describe a hero or antihero, according to you?
Access World News
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database Includes articles from 600 U.S. newspapers and over 700 international newspapers. Coverage varies, some newspapers going back as far as 1977.
Browse People from Home Page
- Access World News Advanced SearchConstruct sophisticated searches with multiple keywords, field searching, and other strategies; limit and browse by global location.
Gale OneFile: News
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text access to more than 1100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Also included are thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts
Example advanced search strategy:
Proximity
Use Proximity Operators to Define Distance Between Terms
Proximity operators (Nn, Wn) can be used to tell the search engine how closely terms must be to each other within a document. They operate like the AND operator in that both terms must be found.
Use Nn to find terms when order doesn't matter
The Nn (near) operator finds terms n words apart in either direction of the first term.
- memory n5 repressed finds documents that contain memory and repressed within five or fewer words of each other.
Use Wn to find terms after the first
The Wn (within) operator finds the second term within n words after the first.
- shared w3 values finds documents that contain the term values within three or fewer words after the term shared.
Wildcards
Use Wildcard Characters to Search on Multiple Similar Terms
Using wildcard characters (*, ?, !) allow you to only type part of your search term to search for multiple terms. This is also known as truncation.
Use the Asterisk (*) for the widest search
The asterisk stands for any number of characters, including none.
- carib* finds: carib, caribs, caribbean, caribe, caribou, etc.
Use the Question Mark (?) for specific words of known length
The question mark stands for exactly one character.
- psych????y finds: psychiatry, psychology but would not find: psychotherapy.
Use the Exclamation Point (!) for specific word variations
The exclamation point stands for one or zero characters.
- colo!r finds: color, colour.
Newspaper Source
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles for 522 U.S. regional, national and international newspapers like USA Today, Indian Country Today and The Times (London). Also offered are transcripts from major network television and radio news, such as Face the Nation, CBS Evening News, CNN Reliable Sources, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, etc. Dates of coverage vary.
By now you are familiar with how to use an advanced search box.