Database Tutorials
Library databases are organized, searchable collections of electronic information that libraries subscribe to, providing access to scholarly articles, ebooks, and other resources.
In the "Databases" search box on the library home page find a database using the Alphabetical List (if you know the name of the database) OR with the pull-down menu (Browse by Subject)--choose a subject--to obtain a list of databases in your research area.
NOTE: "Search for a specific database" is not like Google or the search box for articles and books. It is only for finding the names of databases (i.e. AccessScience, Engineering Village, etc.). If you search a question, it will not bring you results.
The first place to start when searching an unfamiliar database is the "HELP" function--usually a choice on the home page of any database. Additionally, these tutorials and self-paced online training modules offer additional assistance:
-
Cited Reference Searching in SSCI and Science Citation IndexProvides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. 1993-present. Updated weekly.
-
Engineering Village TutorialsEngineering Village tutorials and support center.
-
IEEE Xplore Self-Paced TutorialsIf you only have a few minutes and need some pointers, view one of these instant training modules. IEEE has taken the most requested training topics and recorded high-level overviews showing you what you need to know.
Access to Databases Through SCU Affiliation
-
AccessScience This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online encyclopedia articles, images and multimedia related to science and technology.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations and full text of research articles, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals, covering diverse topics in computer science and related fields.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications related to agriculture and environmental science from 1960 to the present.
-
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to over 1400 journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for additional journals, publications and other sources. Topics covered include applied mathematics, energy resources, biomedical materials, etc.
-
ASCE Library This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of research articles, conference papers, journals, and technical reports related to civil engineering and allied disciplines
-
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to a wide range of globally recognized standards, technical specifications, and related documents, curated by the American Society for Testing & Materials (ASTM). This database has the complete set of ASTM standards
-
Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to summaries, citations, technical literature, and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, dating back to 1872. Results connect to the ASCE Library for full-text access.
-
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a vast collection of abstracts to scientific literature, conference proceedings, technical reports, and patents covering all engineering disciplines. It combines the results from both Compendex and Inspec.
More databases available on the Engineering database page of the library!